Australian Dollar - AUD


The Australian Dollar (AUD) is the currency unit used in the Commonwealth of Australia. The Australian Dollar symbol is $. Commonwealth of Australia states include Cocos Islands, Norfolk Island, Pacific Island states, Christmas Island, and Australia. The Dollar is rated by the World Foreign Exchange market as the fifth most-traded currency in the world. The Australian Dollar is also known as the "Aussie".


  • Australia has a strongly developed and established modern economy.
  • In 2011, Australia was rated the 13th biggest economy by GDP.
  • Australia‘s economy relies on the service industry, which contributes 60% of the total GDP.
  • Import products are computers, machines, telecommunication parts, equipment, petroleum products, and crude oil.
  • Export products include gold, meat, aluminia, wool, wheat, iron ore, and coal. The total export value for the year 2010 is estimated at $2.107 billion AUD.


  • The Australian Dollar replaced the Australian Pound in 1966. The currency was valued at 2 AUD = 1 Pound and the first coins introduced were 1 cent, 2 cents, 5 cents, 10 cents, 20 cents, and 50 cents.
  • In 1967, Australia abandoned the sterling standard and pegged the Australian dollar to the United States Dollar at a rate of 1 AUD = 1.12 USD.
  • In 1983, the AUD became a floated currency.
  • In 1984, the Australian one-dollar coin was introduced; in 1988 the two-dollar coin was introduced.
  • In 2006, the 1-cent and 2-cent coins were discontinued and taken out of circulation.
  • Australia has made special edition coins and notes to commemorate events, such as the Commonwealth Games of 1982.

General Information

Symbols and Names

  • Symbols: Dollar - $, A$, AUD. cent - c
  • Nicknames: Aussie, Menzies

ISO 4217 Code


Currency Subunits

  • Cent (c) = 1/100 of a Dollar


  • Bills: $5, $10, $20, $50, $100
  • Coins: 5c, 10c, 20c, 50c. $1, $2

Countries Using This Currency

  • Australia
  • Ashmore and Cartier Islands (Australian Territory)
  • Australian Antarctic Territory (Australian Territory)
  • Christmas Island (Australian Territory)
  • Cocos (Keeling) Islands (Australian Territory)
  • Coral Sea Islands (Australian Territory)
  • Heard Island and McDonald Islands (Australian Territory)
  • Kiribati
  • Nauru
  • Norfolk Island (Australian Territory)
  • Tuvalu
  • view more
  • view less

Currencies Pegged To AUD :

  • Tuvaluan Dollar
  • Kiribati Dollar

AUD Is Pegged To: